Board of Visitors

Chairperson: Mr. Gerald D. Prothro
Contact Person: Dr. Achille Messac

In 1999, at the direction of the Howard University Board of Trustees, Howard President H. Patrick Swygert established a Board of Visitors for each school and college. Mr. Gerald Prothro, a member of the Howard University Board of Trustees, is chair of the Board. The Board of Visitors crafted the following mission and vision statements at their first meeting in October 2002.


The mission of the Board of Visitors is to develop a constructive working relationship with the administration and faculty of the CEA while understanding the role of the CEA in the overall structure of the University and the national arena of engineering, architecture and computer science education. The BOV should provide an informed perspective on the long and short-range objectives, the strengths and weaknesses, status in comparison to peer units, needs and recommendations for improvement of the College.


The vision of the Board of Visitors is to provide assessment, particularly in relation to peer institutions and support for fundraising and development goals of the CEA to raise the performance indicators in the areas of education, and service.

Board Members

  • Dr. Dereje Agonafer,* Professor and Director, Electronic, MEMS and Telecommunication Systems Packaging Center, The University of Texas at Arlington
  • Dr. Tesfaye Aklilu, VP-Quality, United Technology Corporation
  • Dr. Allen R. Atkins, VP-Technology and Defined Processes, Phantom Works, The Boeing Company
  • Mr. Gary A. Bowden (FAIA), Professor of Practice, School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation, University of Maryland (College Park)
  • Mr. Joseph Cleveland, President, Lockheed Martin, Enterprise Information Systems
  • Mr. Robert Engram,* CEO, One University Gate, Inc.
  • Mr. Jerome Gibbs, Executive Director, Product Development Quality, GM North Amer­ica, General Motors Corporation
  • Mr. Frederick Gregory, Deputy Administrator, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
  • Ms. Michele Hagans,* President, Fort Lincoln Realty Company
  • Dr. Delon Hampton, Chief Executive Officer, Delon Hampton and Associates
  • Mr. Willie Leftwich,* Esq.
  • Mr. Edward Small, President, J.A. Jones/Tompkins Builders
  • Mr. Gerald D. Prothro,* Senior Vice President, Technology, BroadStream
  • Dr. James H. Johnson,* Dean, College of Engineering, Architecture and Computer Sciences

(*) Asterisk denotes Howard alumni


Architecture Graduates Elevated to the College of Fellows of the American Institute of Architects

Wed, April, 12 2017

We are pleased to announce that two graduates of the Howard University Department of Architecture, Kwendeche (B.Arch. 1976) and Kathy Dixon (B.Arch. 1991), have been elevated to the College of Fellows of the American Institute of Architects (FAIA). This is an unparalleled honor and the highest individual recognition bestowed by the Institute. The selection process is rigorous. Approximately three percent of the more than 90,000 AIA members have this distinction. The recipients of the FAIA are recognized for their outstanding contributions to the profession either through design, architectural education or the advancement of the profession after 10 years of AIA membership. The 2017 FAIA class consists of 178 people.Read More >>

2016 AIChE Annual Student Conference in San Francisco

Wed, March, 1 2017

One Senior and six juniors chemical engineering students respectively participated in the 2016 AIChE Annual Student Conference in San Francisco, CA, November 14-18, 2016. The­ students were Simone Stanley, April Howard, Anayia Reliford, Mahtab Waseem, Bekuechukwu Uzondu, Diwash Bajracharya and Okeoghene Osevwe. Simone Stanley (Senior Chemical Engineering student) won first place for her presentation of “An Experiment Based Smartphone Education App for a Simple Introduction to Chemical Engineering Kinetics” in the General Engineering and Engineering Education session of the poster competition.Read More >>


No Events